Reviews

Two day break - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant hotel with a warm welcome and friendly staff.Room is on the small side but adequate. Wifi is free and excellent.Food is very good and reasonably priced.Would not hesitate to recommend and return.

Response

Dear Chris,Thank you very much for your terrific review. We are very please you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.Kind regardsTumbling Weir Hotel

Reviewer:Chris G | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 5 days ago


Convenient for the airport. - Rating 4/5

Very close to Exeter airport .A little tricky to find because of adjacent building work .Comfortable room although water pressure in shower poor and it ran hot and cold .Friendly staff.Good breakfast .

Response

Thank you for your review and we really appreciate your feedback. Apologies for the on-going building works but out of our control unfortunately. Sorry about the problems you had with your shower. We are about to updatethe whole bathroom so hope to solve these issues. Thank you, kind regards Lynn and Paul.

Reviewer:helen b | Fri 7th Sep 2018 | 1 week ago


Great hotel - Rating 4/5

Stayed at The Tumbling Weir the night before a local festival - lovely room and fantastic breakfast- all the staff we met were very helpful - will stay again next year

Response

Thank you very much for your great comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next year. Regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Sue K | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 4 weeks ago


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely time.Only stayed one night but wish we had stayed longer.Room was adequate clean and tidy.Dinner was delicious very well cooked and so was breakfast although there was too much for me.Lovely areaand the tumbling weir was very interesting to see.Would recommend to others and hope to come back again.

Response

Thank you very much for your terrific review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Elaine A | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Mr - Rating 5/5

Clean, very charming, silent and clean Hotel with nice food and staff. Try it!

Response

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.Kind regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:J | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Stayed the one night on works business - Rating 5/5

Very friendly staff, nice clean room, plenty of tea and coffee in the room. Would stay again if opportunity arises

Response

Thank you very much for your very kind comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:S | Mon 6th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


60 th birthday treat- Rating 3/5

The Tumbling Weir was just what I expected ,a lovely hotel tucked away.Rooms were lovely &we had a lovely garden view. The staff were lovely &very helpful .

Response

Dear Mr WottonThank you for your very kind review and lovely comments, which we will pass on to all of our hard-working team of staff.We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that your birthday break lived up to expectation.We hope we can welcome you back to the Tumbling Weir Hotel in the future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Gerald W | Sun 5th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Tumbling Weir Hotel - Rating 4/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay particularly the superb breakfast.

Response

Dear ElizabethThank you for your kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that breakfast exceeded expectation...most important meal of the day!We hope we can welcome you back again in the future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Elizabeth W | Fri 3rd Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


nice place - Rating 5/5

A very nice place with beautiful garden, very good kitchen and very nice service!

Response

Dear JosephThank you so much for your kind review and lovely comments.We do hope we can welcome you back again in the future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Joseph F | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 1 month ago


Great Mid Devon location - Rating 4/5

This is a small, well run family hotel in a quiet scenic spot at the edge of Ottery St. Mary offering very good value for money. The room was clean and comfortable and ours overlooked the beautiful well kept gardens. The Breakfast and Dinner menu is very good and if you are travelling for pleasure it is in a good location to tour from.The access road to the hotel is currently under reconstruction as a small housing development is being built, however once inside the hotel there is no noise from the site which is fully screened from view by mature trees.

Response

Dear SheilaThank you so much for your very kind review and lovely comments.We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future, by which time the new access road will have been long-completed!Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Sheila W | Sat 21st Jul 2018 | 1 month ago


Overnight Stay - Rating 4/5

Stayed for one night b&b July 13. Excellent accommodation and food and extremely pleasant management and staff. Lovely garden at rear and not far to walk into the town. Thoroughly recommend it.

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.Kind regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Melvyn S | Sun 15th Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Will stay again - Rating 5/5

Excellent food at dinner &breakfast, &very pleasant grounds.Room was comfortable with a bath &shower.All the staff were very helpful.

Response

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We appreciate you taking the time and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Mr S J W | Wed 11th Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Return visit - Rating 4/5

This was our 3rd stay at Tumbling Weir and it was as good as ever from the thoughtful tea, coffee and biscuits in the room to the excellent breakfast choice. Excellent value for money for a short stay.

Response

Thank you for your great, appreciative comments and it was lovely seeing you again. Thanks again for coming back to stay with us. Regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:alan m | Tue 10th Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable and accommodating. Nothing too much trouble.The food was fantastic. Definitely recommend.

Response

Thank you very much for your terrific comments. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again sometime.Kind regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Anthony P | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Friendly & relaxing- Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel with beautiful garden. Had a great meal in the restaurant. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a friendly relaxed stay in Ottery.

Response

Thank you very much for your great comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.Kind regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Rick P | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


A pleasant and relaxing stay.- Rating 5/5

Very friendly staff who were keen to help. Food excellent. Peaceful surroundings with a lovely garden for guests to sit in. Traditional hotel. Bathroom seemed a bit dated but it was quite adequate with a hot shower. Clean, good quality bedding and towels every day. Lovely breakfast and evening meal served on a well laid table with starched linen cloths!A lot of trouble was taken to ensure the eating experience was as pleasant as possible.

Response

Thank you very much for your lovely comments.We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I understand about the bathroom and yes it is due for an update and will be done as soon as the summer season is over.Kind regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Wallace K | Sat 7th Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Fantastic Weekend - Rating 5/5

Had the most amazing weekend here, hotel is lovely and perfectly placed to explore, best cooked breakfast I’ve had in a hotel for a long time! Will definitely be back!

Response

Dear DiThank you so much for your great review.We are so pleased that you had a lovely weekend and enjoyed your stay.We will, of course, pass your comments on to our hardworking team of staff!We look forward to being able to welcome you all back again in the future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Di K | Mon 2nd Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Regular annual visitor- Rating 5/5

Always a pleasure to stay at this hotel. Never disappointed. Very comfortable beds quiet location, excellent food and good wine list.

Response

Dear John and LynnThank you for your kind words and glowing review.It was lovely to see you both again.We are so pleased that you enjoy staying with us enough to keep coming back and look forward to seeing you both again soon.Best regardsLynn and Paul

Reviewer:John& Lynn E | Sun 17th Jun 2018 | 3 months ago


enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

my wife and I enjoyed our stay at The Tumbling Weir hotel, good location for beach's nearby and comfortable bed and room service, the food was excellent and the staff very attentive. will be going back as soon as we can.

Response

Dear Mr WhiteThank you for your lovely comments and great review.We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back to see us again soon.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:ronald w | Fri 8th Jun 2018 | 3 months ago


A Good Weekend - Rating 5/5

A splendid hotel for our 2-day break.Owners and staff most helpful and friendly.The food was most enjoyable and we found our room very comfortable.Lovely patio and grounds.

Response

Dear BarryThank you so much for your kind review and lovely comments.We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Barry T | Wed 30th May 2018 | 3 months ago


Great weekend. - Rating 4/5

A great weekend seeing old friends was made even more special by staying in a friendly, relaxed and delightful hotel. The garden and surrounding area is lovely, peaceful but also interesting as is the local church. I would definitely stay here again.

Response

Dear PaulineThank you for your very positive review and kind comments.We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our town to be an interesting place to visit.It would be lovely to be able to welcome you back again in the future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Pauline Y | Tue 22nd May 2018 | 3 months ago


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

A wonderful surprise to find a hotel with lovely clean rooms, fantastic food and welcoming, helpful staff. Unreserved recommendation.

Response

Dear JayneThank you so much for your lovely comments and kind review.We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your liking.It\'s nice to know that you won\'t hesitate to recommend us.We hope we can welcome you back again in the future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Mrs J | Sat 19th May 2018 | 4 months ago


A lovely hotel - Rating 4/5

On first impression, the approach through the building site was less than ideal (a shame but not their fault) and the corridors smelt a little musty when I went up to my room.But,my room was very comfortable, nicely decorated and everything was very clean.Bathroom was spotless.Breakfast was great - wonderful poached eggs!The walls are a little thin so I could hear everything going on in corridor but guests weren’t up all hours so it wasn’t a problem when you were trying to sleep.The staff were very friendly which was nice as I was on my own.Although I felt a little exposed on my table for one which was laid up right by the entrance to the. restaurant (minor detail)Thank you, it was a really good night’s stay.

Response

Dear JoanneThank you for your review and kind comments.We are very sorry that your first impressions were not overly positive.You are right in thinking, unfortunately, there is nothing we can do regarding the approach to the hotel, except hope and pray that the builders finish the project in a timely manner.A recent breach in the thatch has caused water damage to the upstairs corridor and can only assume that this, together with the newly plastered wall, is what you could smell.We hope to be able to paint the wall very soon, so hopefully this will rectify the issue.We have also noted your comment about being sat close to the entrance of the restaurant whilst dining alone.We are very sorry that you felt as you did and should have moved you to a more comfortable table, if we were made aware of this at the time.It is something we will mention to all of our waiting staff.We are pleased that you had a good stay, on the whole, and that the cleanliness of the room and the quality of the food lived up to expectation.We hope we can welcome you back in the future, once the neighbouring building works are completed.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Joanne C | Sat 12th May 2018 | 4 months ago


Thank You - Rating 5/5

What can I say, a beautiful setting with very welcoming staff.We only stayed one night but it was the best night’s sleep I have had in a while.The room was fresh and crisp and overlooked the beautiful, well maintained garden.We had drinks in the lounge where we order our evening meal, dining room was light and airy, the meal was of high quality and presentation, with the taste to match.Breakfast was a feast of choice and was as good as the evening meal.Thank you for making our stay relaxing.Would highly recommend a visit.Stephen and Toni Cole

Response

Dear Stephen and ToniThank you so much for your lovely message and very kind words.We will ensure we pass your feedback on to the team of staff here, as they all work so hard to maintain the high standards to which we aspire.We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back again in the not too distant future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:S & T C | Mon 30th Apr 2018 | 4 months ago


Very comfortable- Rating 4/5

This little Hotel was just the perfect place to stay when you’re vistimg the area and need a place to sleep. We didn’t get to eat there as we were only needing a bed so I couldn’t comment on the quality of supper or breakfast.At the moment it is approachable through a new housing estate which isn’t ideal but once through the building you arrive to a very quiet place. The rooms were clean and had a very comfortable bed, which was a small double but for one night, we still slept well if not more cosily than we’re used to! The small bathroom had all the necessary shower gels and vanity items that you could need and should you want hot drinks there was a tray of coffees teas and biscuits plus a nice bottle of water. So we left the place feeling that if we were needing to stay around there again we would certainly consider revisiting the hotel.

Response

Dear AliceThank you so much for your lovely comments and kind review of our hotel.We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Alice P | Mon 23rd Apr 2018 | 4 months ago


familial visit - Rating 4/5

Despite reviews to the contrary the directions to TWH were spot on. The welcome was warm and our room comfortable. Drinks in the lounge were followed by dinner for which there was ample choice on the menu. Our meal was thoroughly enjoyed by all as were the digestifs, again brought to us in the lounge. Breakfast was excellent.We were made to feel welcome by all the staff.

Response

Dear JohnThank you so much for your lovely comments and very kind review.We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:John h | Wed 18th Apr 2018 | 5 months ago


Valentines Break - Rating 5/5

I booked the hotel as a Valentines short break for my wife and I. The staff were prompt in responding before I arrived with their communication and upon arrival, they were courteous and helpfulThe room was clean and comfortable. The car park is being renovated at the moment, but this did not cause any major problems. The highlight of our stay was the food. We had an evening meal and breakfast and both were of an extremely high standard. I would stay again and would recommend highly to others. Thank you.

Response

Dear Mr ReyndersThank you for your very kind review and lovely comments, which we will pass on to the team here at The Tumbling Weir Hotel.We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back again at some point in the future.Best regardsLynn Thurgate

Reviewer:David R | Fri 16th Feb 2018 | 7 months ago


First class stay - Rating 5/5

Helpful and friendly staffComfortable accommodationExceptional food quality

Response

Dear Mr MacDonaldThank you for your very kind comments and great review, which we will pass on to all of our team.We hope we can welcome you back again in the future.Best regardsLynn Thurgate

Reviewer:Malcolm M | Mon 5th Feb 2018 | 7 months ago


Excellent Hotel - Rating 5/5

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel, it was clean, warm and cosy.Excellent meal in the restaurant and lovely breakfast.Very good value for money.

Response

Dear Mr ValentineMany thanks for your kind review and lovely comments, which we will pass on to our staff.We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:David V | Thu 9th Nov 2017 | 10 months ago


Excellent - Rating 1/5

We were made very welcome! The room we were allocated was lovely, with a nice en-suite bathroom, and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. I would recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting the area, and will definitely stay there again. My star rating is 5, despite it appearing as 1.(website difficulties?)

Response

Dear MargaretMany thanks for your kind review and lovely comments, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.We are not entirely sure why your 5 star rating shows as 1 but will look into it.Thank you once again and we hope we can welcome you back again in the future.Best regardsLynn Thurgate

Reviewer:Margaret Turner| Wed 1st Nov 2017 | 10 months ago


Great friendly hotel - Rating 4/5

Stayed at te Thmbling Weir instead of the main stream hotel brands.Comfy rooms, great breakfast, and great evening meal.I willbne staying there again jn the near future.

Reviewer:Darrell S | Thu 26th Oct 2017 | 10 months ago


Weekend Stay - Rating 5/5

This is an excellent hotel with kind and friendly staff as well as modern facilities. Everything in the room was comfortable with a good bed for a good night's sleep.Breakfast was excellent and parking was available. Access was a bit difficult due to major building in the area but the hotel notified us what do do well beforehand so were able to find our way without any ado.We had a lovely weekend and I'm sure we will return again in the future when we need to stay in Ottery St Mary.

Response

Dear RosalindThank you so much for your lovely review of our hotel.We will pass your kind comments on to all the team.We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.Best regardsLynn Thurgate

Reviewer:Rosalind C | Mon 23rd Oct 2017 | 11 months ago


Brief but delightful stay.- Rating 5/5

We were in Devon for a wedding so spent relatively little time in the hotel. It was however very comfortable, spotlessly clean and extremely welcoming. The breakfast was superb and all this for a very reasonable price. I would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Edward S | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 11 months ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

Hotel owners and staff very friendly and welcoming. Evening meals and breakfast were very good. Rooms had everything you need. Comfortable bed. Only down side was the shower, not powerful enough and quite difficult to keep a stable temperature.

Response

Dear Mr TringThank you for your kind review and lovely comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.Our apologies for the temperamental shower, which has since been looked at and, hopefully, now functions as it should!We hope we can welcome you back to the Tumbling Weir Hotel at some point in the future.Best regardsLynn Thurgate

Reviewer:JOHN T | Mon 2nd Oct 2017 | 11 months ago


A lovely place - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable, nice staff, good breakfast, lovely village.

Response

Dear Mr SaundersThank you for your kind review.We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.Best regardsLynn Thurgate

Reviewer:John S | Thu 28th Sep 2017 | 11 months ago


Very enjoyable visit - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable room, clean and cosy with a lovely view of the garden. Excellent evening meal and breakfast. Staff very friendly and welcoming.

Response

Dear SueThank you for your kind review and lovely comments, which we will pass on to our team of staff.They always welcome the feedback, as do we.We hope we can welcome you back to the Tumbling Weir very soon.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Sue R | Fri 22nd Sep 2017 | 12 months ago


Friendly and comfortable - Rating 4/5

This is a small hotel tucked away in a quiet spot behind some derelict industrial buildings by the River Otter in Ottery St. Mary.Don't be put off by the access off the main road - it soon opens out to a large car park from which you can see the extensive riverside gardens of the hotel.Beyond the hotel there is pedestrian access to the mill stream walk leading into the centre of town, a very pleasant five-minute walk.The hotel itself is small, cosy and peaceful.Staff are friendly and helpful.The rooms,though small, are comfortable and spotlessly clean.I particularly appreciated the quality cotton sheets and fresh pillows.If the breakfast I had is anything to go by, food is locally sourced and beautifully cooked and presented.I can certainly recommend it!

Response

Dear CarenThank you so much for your recent review of our hotel and the lovely comments you made, which we will pass on to our hard-working team of staff.We hope we can welcome you back again in the future, at which point, hopefully, our new road access will be fully useable!Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:caren f | Mon 18th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Fantastic stay in this beautiful hotel - Rating 5/5

Just had an incredible weekend at the Tumbling Weir hotel.Staff were all really friendly and very helpful.Had dinner on the first night which was really good and the breakfasts both morning were excellent.Would definitely recommend staying here.

Response

Dear ClareThank you so much for your recent review of our hotel and the lovely comments you made.We will pass them on to our team of staff, who always appreciate the positive reviews, as do we.We hope we can welcome you back again at some point in the future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Clare t | Mon 18th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Our stay - Rating 5/5

Ab fab stay lovely old style service missing in some of the modern trendy hotels.beautiful service and food cannot fault this hidden jewel .will be back

Response

Dear LinThank you for your lovely comments and positive review, which we will pass on to our hard-working team of staff.We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Lin H | Sun 17th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


A pleasant break - Rating 4/5

The lane into the hotel is a bit of a surprise - the neighbouring building site seems to have spread - but once you get to the hotel it's a very pleasantly tucked-away spot with an attractive garden (very wet when we visited), and a variety of walks around it. We ate extremely well - dinner of mushrooms and local fish and excellent smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for breakfast. A comfortable room with everything you might need. Our only criticism:the bed was a little small. In our (limited) experience, the best place to stay in the neighbourhood.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review and we really appreciate your comments. We do have rooms with larger beds but we were very busy that night and you got our last room so we are sorry we were unable to offer you any thing larger. Kind regards Lynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Roderick T | Sat 16th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


overnight stay - Rating 5/5

we found your hotel first class the hospitality could`nt be faulted the staff was first class also, I would recommend your hotel to anybody keep up the excellent work.

Response

Thank you very much for your lovely review.We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewer:Leonard D | Fri 15th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Peaceful few days away. - Rating 5/5

A lovely hidden gem. Please make sure you recommend this to your friends and tell them to eat at the hotel. The food is amazing! Better than other hotels in the area on trip advisor.

Response

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewer:Sarah W | Mon 11th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Very enjoyable stay- Rating 4/5

Stayed here for 3 nights. Bedroom and bathroom spotless and bed extremely comfortable. Stunning view over the garden. Breakfasts were the best we've had in a hotel. Freshly cooked to order with quality produce. No buffet where food is just kept warm for hours! Staff friendly and helpful. Only minor negative point was the access to the hotel down a narrow bumpy road through what seemed like a building site. Would definitely stay again.

Response

Dear Mrs Gardiner, Thank you very much for your lovely review.We really appreciate your feedback and particularly liked your comments about our breakfasts of which we are very proud. Regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Lynda G | Fri 8th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Tumbling Weir - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our one night stay here. The room was very clean and comfortable , the staff very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent

Response

Dear Mr ParsonsMany thanks for your kind review.We have passed your lovely comments on to our team of staff.We hope we can welcome you back to the Tumbling Weir Hotel at some point in the future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Brian P | Sat 2nd Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


The Tumbling Tier - Rating 4/5

We were down for a funeral and the wake was at the hotel, so ideal for an overnight stay at this lovely hotel that nestles by the mill stream. At reception the lady was very accommodating in allowing us to check in early. The room was very clean, breakfast was simple, and freshly cooked to order. We had dinner with wine which was good value and well presented. The staff overall were also very good and friendly and I would recommend this establishment as place to stay in this part of Devon.

Response

Dear Mr FewkesThank you so much for your very kind review of our hotel.We are very proud of the service given by our small team of staff and will pass your lovely comments on to them.We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:David F | Thu 31st Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Great little place! - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable room &bed, well equipped &beautifully furnished. Great breakfast and friendly, helpful staff. Convenient for town and beyond - definitely recommended.

Response

Dear Mrs WatsonThank you so much for your great review and lovely comments, which we will pass on to our team of staff.We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back again at some point in the future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan W | Tue 29th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


A good place to stop- Rating 4/5

A slightly dated but most pleasant small hotel. Friendlystaff. Very good food. A nice alternative to roadside chains. I wish I had had time to explore the gardens, they looked really nice. Maybe next time.

Response

Dear ChrisThank you for your kind review.We will pass your lovely comments on to our staff, who all work so hard to offer the service provided.We hope we can welcome you again in the future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Chris C | Sat 26th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


I recommend ! - Rating 4/5

Very professional, good place, quiet.Connexion internet was perfect and food was great !I really recommend !

Response

Dear PatrickThank you so much for your kind review and lovely comments, which we will pass on to our hard-working team of staff.We hope we can welcome you back again soon!Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:patrick l | Thu 24th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


ALL RIGHT - Rating 5/5

As previously, we were well looked after, comfortable rooms and good food. What more could one require?

Response

Dear Mr TuggeyThank you very much for your kind comments.We hope we can welcome you back again in the future.Best regardsPaul and Lynn Thurgate

Reviewer:Mr. Alan T | Wed 23rd Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Two day break - Rating 5/5

We had a light and airy room.Beds were comfortable, shower easy to use, great breakfasts, friendly and helpful staff. We were the only guests one night but we were still offered and served a delicious meal. Thank you.

Response

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Lynn Thurgate, Owner

Reviewer:Margaret S | Fri 18th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely comfortable hotel, very welcoming hosts, nice evening meal and fantastic breakfast. Just a shame about the rain!

Response

Dear Mrs EwingThank you so much for your review of our hotel.We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Mrs. Elfrida E | Tue 1st Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


A Great Stop over en route to Cornwall - Rating 5/5

After a challenge in the access road, a superb welcome. Fascinating Tumbling weir to visit. Excellent hotel with great dining for dinner and Breakfast.

Response

Dear Mr BannerMany thanks for your recent review of our hotel.We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Mr. Austin B | Thu 6th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Beautiful Room, friendly staff and superb food.- Rating 5/5

I stayed in Room 2 which was lovely. The bed was comfortable and I had a wonderful nights sleep.I ate in the restaurant on arrival. Beautifully cooked duck in a cherry and star anise sauce, followed by a brandy basked filled with minted strawberries and clotted team. I would recommend eating at the restaurant as it was really delicious.All of the staff were friendly and suggested places to visit and things to do. I hope to stay again, hopefully with my husband next time as I had some a lovely time. The gardens are beautiful and I loved watching two rabbits running around in the twilight.Don't be put off by the entrance to the carpark, which your SAT Nav will not find, as it's between two disused building currently being refurbished. A new entrance to the car park is planned.There is a sign indicating the entrance. once in the car park you will soon see the hotel.

Response

Dear LornaThank you so much for your kind comments.We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you hope to visit again in the future.We take pride in the food we serve and the service we provide, so it is always nice to know that it has been recognised so we have, of course, passed your lovely comments on to the team who work with us.Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you soon..by which point, fingers crossed, the new entrance will be complete!Kind regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Lorna C | Sun 25th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


The TumblingWeir Hotel, Ottery St. Mary. - Rating 5/5

Couldn't believe we had chosen such a lovely place to stay just by looking on the Internet.Very comfortable, beautiful gardens in a lovely setting.Everyone was very welcoming and helpful.Have already recommended the hotel and staff to several friends and relatives.

Response

Dear GuestIf you have recently received a response from us, we must apologise as the feedback may not have been intended for you.Unfortunately, we are unsure what happened, although suspect it was user error!Although you should have received a response at the time of posting, please may we take this opportunity again to thank you for your recent review.We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we can welcome you back again soon.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Michael B | Sat 27th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Hidden Gem - Rating 5/5

The folks that own and run the Tumbling Weir are absolutely lovely.At the moment finding your way to the hotel is tricky but hopefully that will change for the better soon.The food was excellent and we will not hesitate to return when in the area.

Response

Dear DianaMany thanks for your recent review of our hotel.We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Diana P | Mon 22nd May 2017 | 1 year ago


One Night Stay - Rating 5/5

Once again a very enjoyable stay at the Tumbling Weir. I have been staying here for the last 10 years and as always the service and friendly atmosphere were as great as ever and a breakfast to die for. Many thanks

Response

Dear Mr BurchWe\'re so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, repeat visits are proof that we\'re doing something right, so, thank you very much.We hope we can welcome you back again soon and repeat the positive experience.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher B | Mon 8th May 2017 | 1 year ago


One night Stay. - Rating 4/5

Pleasant Stay, only not long enough.

Response

Dear Mr MilesMany thanks for your recent review of our hotel.We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Mike M | Mon 24th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


:] - Rating 5/5

Very relaxed comfortable stay.

Response

Dear GeorgieThank you for your kind comments.We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back again soon.Kind regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Mrs. Georgina S | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


An excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

Quiet,spacious bedroom,a comfortable residents' lounge and most of all, a top quality chef who provided excellently cooked meals from a well thought out menu.Pleasant and helpful staff added to our enjoyment of a very pleasant stay at a modest price.

Response

Dear Mr DaviesThank you for your lovely comments, we will pass them on to all the staff concerned.We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back again soon.Kindest regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Mr. Michael D | Fri 7th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Worth a visit - Rating 4/5

Wonderful location.Rooms spotless.Food very good. A lovely &friendly atmosphere

Response

Dear Mr TrudeThank you so much for your kind comments, which we\'ll pass on to all the staff.We\'re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Mr. Terence T | Wed 5th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Friendly host. Helpful staff. - Rating 4/5

It was quite difficult for us to find a B&B and dinner place. The host and their staff were very helpful with arranging room and dinner for us. I gave 4 star as the room would be better with some updating and the bedding was a bit too soft for us. Would consider coming back again Thank you!

Response

Dear TammyWe are glad that you enjoyed your stay.We are very lucky to have friendly staff who, like us, aim to make everyone feel relaxed and at home when they come to stay.We hope we can welcome you back again very soon.Kind regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Tammy Y | Mon 27th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Great Place - Rating 5/5

Lovely location , great breakfast , friendly staff and nice rooms

Response

Dear StephenThank you for your lovely comments.We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the nearby building works didn\'t impact negatively on our peaceful location.We hope we can welcome you back again in the future.Kind regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:stephen A | Mon 13th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

What a gem of a hotel! Lovely hosts, very comfortable room which was spotless. We had a good dinner and excellent breakfast. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone.

Response

Dear IanWe are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your comfort.We will pass your very kind comments onto the kitchen and housekeeping team, it will mean a lot to them.We hope we can welcome you back again very soon.Best regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Mr. Ian R | Mon 13th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Nice Hotel - Rating 4/5

Clean and good service in a nice charming hotel

Response

Dear Mr StahlThank you so much for your kind comments.We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back very soon.Kind regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Mr. Jerker S | Mon 13th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


As close to perfection as you could get - would def recommend 100 per cent - Rating 5/5

Beautiful room with the little personal touches to make your stay the best it can be - very clean everywhere - breakfast had good choices and food excellent as were the hosts - tucked away in the heart of Ottery St Mary - beautiful tranquil location -cannot praise this place enough and will definitely stay again

Response

Dear JennyThank you so much for your very kind comments.We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be to your comfort.We are very fortunate to be located where we are and hope our guests can make the most of our tranquil setting during their stay.We hope to welcome you back very soon.Kind regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Jenny B | Sun 22nd Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Perfect- Rating 5/5

A beautifully decorated and cosy family run hotel.Excellent breakfast and beautifully presented. Ive stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels but to be honest this little gem has been far better.Cant wait to stay again.

Response

Dear NicolaThank you so much for your very kind comments.We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your comfort.We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.Kind regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Nicola Y | Sun 22nd Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


A delectable hotel in a wonderful setting - Rating 4/5

This hotel is warm (even at coldest time of year!);has well-appointed rooms, with excellent bedding and pillows;restaurant offers fine dinner menu;and it is set within a beautiful garden, in a very quiet part of town, near the old millstream and river Otter.

Response

Dear HilaryThank you so much for your very kind comments.We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your comfort.We are very fortunate to be located where we are and only hope our guests can make the most of our peaceful setting during their stay.We hope to welcome you back very soon.Kind regardsLynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Hilary F | Sat 21st Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Alan and Christine Disher - Rating 5/5

Very warm and friendly welcome.Comfortable and attractive bedroom.Excellent and generous breakfast.A kind and helpful response to Alan following his nasty fall prior to arrival. Many thanks.

Response

Thank you very much for your kind comments and we hope Mr Disher has recovered from his nasty fall. Kind regards from the Tumbling Weir.

Reviewer:Mrs. Christine D | Fri 20th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


One nightd B&B on business in \"low\" season - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant room, food excellent, would recommend as an ideal stop over in Ottery

Response

Dear Mr Stanford, thank you so much for your very kind review, we\'re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back very soon.Kind regards, Lynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Mr. Dave S | Wed 16th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Tumbling Wier Hotel - Rating 4/5

Delightful building and room, still in need of some restoration (car park,electrics etc). Friendly staff, good food. Difficult access with a wide car, otherwise eccellent.

Response

Dear Mr Ackroyd, thank you for your kind comments, we\'re glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to The Tumbling Weir Hotel in the future, at which point, we hope the new entrance road will be open. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Saul A | Fri 28th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Very comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

Everything was as it should be, quiet, tranquil, warm, comfortable, delicious food, lovely grounds, cottage-like, attentive service with reassuringly traditional hospitality. Thank you so much. Strange narrow entrance but once the building work has completed it will be lovely.

Response

Dear Mrs Mitchell, many thanks for your very kind review, we\'re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Tumbling Weir Hotel again in the not too distant future. We are hopeful that the building works will be completed soon and our new and improved entrance will be open!Thanks again, best regards Lynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Mrs. Katy M | Sun 23rd Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Delightful! - Rating 5/5

Stayed one night here for my grandmother's funeral. We had the wake in the hotel as well and were looked after extremely well. Lovely people, very friendly, very attentive. Fantastic breakfast! Oh and thanks very much for allowing me to hose my extremely muddy bicycle after my pre-breakfast ride. We'll be back, no doubt :)

Reviewer:Michael B | Mon 17th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Lovely Stay- Rating 5/5

Hotel was very comfortable and with excellent staff - well looked after and couldn't ask for more - Thank you

Response

Many thanks for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Lynn & Paul Thurgate

Reviewer:Mr. Michael S | Mon 10th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Excellent overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome on arrival;excellent food and service service in restaurant. Well kept large garden.Will book again.

Response

Thank you so much for your very kind review, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the future. Regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Eddie O | Sat 10th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

Can thoroughly reccommend this lovely hotel with beautiful garden. Very quiet, no sound at night apart from an owl! Nice clean, comfy room. Nice, helpful staff. Dinner was delicious!

Response

Thank you so much for your very kind review, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewer:Bonny L | Sat 10th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Good choice for stopover - Rating 4/5

We stayed at Tumbling Weir as an overnight stop en route from Buckinghamshire to Cornwall.Vey pleased with the hotel.Dinner was good.Room very comfortable.Friendly and efficient service.Lovely gardens.Would recommend.

Response

Thank you very much for your lovely positive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Mrs. valerie w | Tue 6th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


GOOD STAY. - Rating 5/5

A nice hotel in a good location with friendly hosts. Good sized rooms with all facilities. Good food. All in all a good stay and I would like to return.

Response

Thank you very much for your very positive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Alan T | Tue 6th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Weekend visit - Rating 5/5

Warm &friendly welcome, very comfortable room, superb evening meal, excellent breakfast - altogether, a very enjoyable stay, thank you.

Response

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Susan W | Mon 29th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Beautiful Days - Rating 5/5

Excellent as always.

Reviewer:Ms. Elizabeth M | Wed 24th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


As Good As Ever - Rating 5/5

This was my fourth stay at The Tunbling Weir, which in a way speaks for itself. It's a friendly, family-run hotel in an ideal location in Ottery with good parking and quiet surroundings and pleasnat gardens. Although relatively small, there is a great feeling of freedom and privacy. Breakfast is excellent. Lunch and dinner are also available. I have dined there in the past and would recommend it.

Response

Thank you for your very nice comments. We are so pleased you keep coming back and that you enjoy our hotel so much. Regards from Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Mr. David B | Fri 12th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Over-nighter with mum - Rating 5/5

Very clean, comfortable and friendly hotel. Lovely evening meal and very good breakfast. good sized room with all facilities, and very quiet location. Easy walk into town. Great stop off if travelling to Cornwall.

Reviewer:Claire H | Sat 6th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Business Travel - Rating 4/5

Excellent accommodation and location.

Response

Thank you for your terrific review - we appreciate your time and hope to see you again in the future. Regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Mr. Paul S | Mon 1st Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Sophisticated Hotel in Quiet location - Rating 5/5

Excellent service at this small intimate hotel located in a quiet location. Nothing was too much trouble and food and service was of a very high quality. Rooms were clean, comfortable and well provisioned. Overall I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and definitely intend to revisit now that I have found it !

Reviewer:David W | Sun 10th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Comfortable and enjoyable - Rating 4/5

Clean comfortable room. Good facilities and friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast excellent.

Reviewer:Jenny H | Sat 2nd Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Charming Retreat - Rating 5/5

The Tumbling Weir is a charming retreat in the center of Ottery St. Mary, one step from the park.The staff are very friendly, the rooms comfortable and quiet, and the gardens lovely for relaxing with a drink in the evening.I have stayed there several times over the past 10 years and have never been disappointed.The breakfast is fantastic.

Reviewer:Mr. Neil O | Mon 20th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Wonderful hotel - an excellent place to explore Devon - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful three days here last week. The room was lovely – a comfortable bed, plenty of room for clothes and a pleasant bathroom with fantastic towels:all looking over a very pretty garden. Breakfast was excellent with home made jam and marmalade and dinner was a superb choice of food on each evening. The service throughout was friendly and extremely efficient. We had enjoyed our stay when we came before about three years ago and, as then, we were very lucky with the weather;it was pleasing to see that the high standards had been maintained. We shall certainly revisit. The only downside is the entrance to the hotel:however, this looks as if it will shortly improve as the factory next door is being turned into accommodation. Don’t let this put you off at all – this is a good centre to explore Devon and Dorset and the hotel itself is not to be missed!

Response

What a lovely review!Thank you so much for taking the time to write it.We look forward to seeing you again.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Mr. Beverley W | Tue 14th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


A comfortable stay in a quiet location - Rating 4/5

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay at Tumbling Weir Hotel. Our room was very comfortable. The owner invited us to have a drink in the lounge, which was very pleasant, and the meal that followed was excellent.

Reviewer:Pamela C | Tue 7th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Very enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed two nights and enjoyed the tranquil setting, friendly owners and comfortable room very much. Dinner was excellent. Will book to stay again soon.

Response

Thank you so much for your review.It\'s very much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Mr. Derek E | Tue 31st May 2016 | 2 years ago


Tumbling Weir - Rating 5/5

Hotel in a lovely position with mature gardens.We had a warm welcome, room was exceptional and food was excellent.Would thoroughly recommend and certainly visit again.Great value for money!

Response

Thank you so much for your kind review.We really appreciate it!Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Graham W | Mon 16th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Very enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Small thatched hotel situated in quiet, picturesque surroundings, with well equipped and clean, comfortable rooms;excellent food, pleasant and helpful staff. What more could you require?

Response

What a lovely review!Thank you so much for taking the time to write it.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:John A | Sun 1st May 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent and restful stay - Rating 5/5

We selected this hotel from the web, and our initial impressions from the road entrance down the narrow lane were less than positive. However, the welcome was warm, bed very comfortable, food excellent and staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Mr. Jeffery M | Fri 22nd Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Highly Recommended - Rating 5/5

If you like peace and quiet, good food, a comfy bed, a sparkling clean bathroom, good quality linen, a pretty garden full of birdlife and pleasant, unobtrusive staff this charming little hotel is for you. We came here for a family Diamond Wedding lunch party for 40 and were immediately impressed with the well cooked and presented food and good service. The quiet location and large garden made me think what a lovely wedding reception venue this would be. We stayed the night and although our room was on the small side it had everything we needed and the cleanest hotel bathroom I've ever seen. I appreciated the good-quality curtains, generous supply of tea, coffee (including de-caff), 2 sachets of hot choc and tasty biscuits. We ate a hot cooked breakfast (as opposed to the lukewarm breakfasts we seem to get most of the time elsewhere), sitting at a table covered in crisp white linen. If the jam and marmalade wasn't homemade I'd like to know what brand it was and we felt well looked after and a bit more special than in a Premier Inn or similar hotel chain.Don't be put off by the narrow entrance off the road and unmade car park you have to cross before reaching the hotel - it's a little gem!

Response

What a wonderful review!Thank you so much for taking the time to write it and noticing the little things that we make so much effort to get right.We do hope to see you again sometime in the future.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Howard N | Wed 13th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Would happily revisit - Rating 4/5

We found the staff friendly and helpful. Very much enjoyed our dinner, which was also good value. Our room had all the needed amenities, although we prefer more modern decor. Only complaint was bedside lighting, which was not suitable for reading in bed.

Response

Thank you for your comments.We apologise that the lighting was not suitable for reading and will look at a solution for this.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Mr. George S | Sun 10th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Good location for Westpoint Arena - Rating 5/5

Bedroom - very good &comfortable &well furnished.EnSuite - all that you needed &very nice good size towelsFood - excellent

Response

Thank you so much for your kind review.We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Janet L | Mon 28th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely weekend - Rating 5/5

Another pleasant stay at Tumbling Weir, which is very convenient for visiting family in West Hill.Very quiet room and excellent breafasts

Reviewer:Mr. Mike M | Mon 14th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Two night stay in January - Rating 4/5

Good scrupulously clean hotel with excellent cooked breakfast.We will stay again when next in the area.

Reviewer:Ron D | Wed 27th Jan 2016 | 2 years ago


Pleasant and very friendly - Rating 5/5

Comfortable room and a very pleasant environment. Good food and helpful, friendly staff. Good value for money.

Reviewer:Hameen M | Tue 15th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Hidden treasure- Rating 5/5

Lovely room really comfy bed, very clean and good amenities, breakfast was spot on after the xmas party the night before!! Would recommend

Reviewer:Mrs. Tammy C | Sun 13th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Good small hotel - Rating 5/5

As in previous times that we have stayed, there is a relaxed and homely atmosphere.Very quiet rooms.Excellent breakfast using good local produce. Price competitive. Would recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian J | Wed 2nd Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


A hotel not to be missed - Rating 5/5

Do not be fooled by the access road this is a fine hotel in quiet location. Clean and comfortable rooms. With very cheerful and welcoming owners and staff. Excellent food. Will visit again.

Reviewer:Mr. PaulFranklin| Wed 11th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Very Pleasant Stay - Rating 5/5

All round great hotel. Very friendly and attentive staff. Really nice warm feeling about the place.

Response

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your review.I will pass your kind words on to our staff.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:PAUL N | Thu 29th Oct 2015 | 2 years ago


Fantastic food - Rating 5/5

For a small hotel we were greatly surprised by the standard of the food. The room was comfortable and everyone was very friendly. I can not imagine that anyone would not enjoy a stay here. We were just passing through so did not get the chance to explore the grounds or the town.

Reviewer:Paul G | Thu 29th Oct 2015 | 2 years ago


Lovely Hotel - Rating 4/5

Stayed here for 3 nights.Hotel in pretty location with lovely gardens.Staff very friendly and super breakfasts.Would recommend, and would like to return in warmer weather.

Reviewer:Lynda C | Sat 24th Oct 2015 | 2 years ago


staying at tmbling weir - Rating 5/5

first time away on my own all staff very friendly

Reviewer:Jan K | Sun 18th Oct 2015 | 2 years ago


Overnight stay- Rating 4/5

Excellent stay , very friendly , nice location we stopped to give ourselves a break from a long journey . Excellent supper we had a very tasty meal at a reasonable cost . Breakfast was also very good , fab eggs !! Room was small but we knew this would be the case , however very clean and quiet . Slightly strange entrance this shouldn't put you off !

Reviewer:Miss. Jane M | Sun 20th Sep 2015 | 2 years ago


Feeling good - Rating 4/5

Good restaurant, excellent food.

Reviewer:Mr. Werner K | Wed 2nd Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


Great hotel and location - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for the second time, very quiet, friendly staff and good breakfast.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review.We hope to see you again soon!Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Lucie A | Mon 31st Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Great location - Rating 4/5

Peaceful setting and gardens. Great breakfast.

Reviewer:Graham G | Sun 9th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Tumbling Weir Hotel - Rating 5/5

I stayed for one night with my son, so not really "Group of Adults"but none of the other choices fitted.The beds were very clean and comfortable, as was the bathroom. Staff very welcoming and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble.Breakfast was excellent also.

Reviewer:Mrs. JOYCE H | Sat 8th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent, friendly hotel. Good spacious rooms and good breakfast in a relaxed atmosphere.

Reviewer:Dennis L | Fri 7th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


My stay- Rating 5/5

I had a lovely stay @ The Tumbling weir hotel last weekend whilst attending a friends wedding , friendly helpful staff , clean hotel , treated very well , would visit again 😃👍🏻

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review.We hope you will stay with us again soon.Kind regards,Lynn & Paul

Reviewer:Miss. EmmaLane - Piears| Fri 24th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

My room was really clean and comfortable and had everything I needed to make me feel welcome. It felt like "home from home". I had a good night's sleep and an excellent breakfast the next morning. The owners, Paul and Lynne, are delightful and very welcoming. I will be staying there again and recommend it to my family and friends.I would also recommend it to anyone who either wants to be in the region and just have a friendly and clean place to stay, or to anyone who wishes to explore East Devon to use it as a starting point - the "Tumbling Weir"itself is a fascinating feat of engineering, and Ottery St Mary has masses of history. Ottery is in the middle of East Devon, so for anyone interested in East Devon history and exploring it, Ottery is a good place to be based. The Tumbling Weir hotel combines old-world charm with a warm welcome, and a "home from home"feel. I wholeheartedly recommend it.

Reviewer:Mrs. JoyT | Sun 12th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent. Very friendly owners and staff. Lovely food. Couldn't fault anything.

Reviewer:Alan G | Thu 2nd Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent night stop - Rating 5/5

This hotel is well located in a very peaceful area away from traffic noise with a pretty garden. The room was very comfortable but the food on offer was outstanding. We had an excellent fish dish for supper which was quite superb and breakfast cooked by our host, was all that be asked for in a full English. Delicious and we shall stay there again next we go West!!

Response

What a lovely review, thank you so much.We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Mr. David H | Mon 23rd Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Very Pleasant surprise - Rating 5/5

Perfect location for our 2 day stay. We can only highly recommend this family run hotel.Extremely friendly owners who cannot do enough to make your stay as good as anywhere.You cannot better the food which is fresh and beautifully presented.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review.It was very kind of you to take the time to write it.We do hope you will stay with us again.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Susan M | Fri 20th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Relaxing:-)- Rating 4/5

Fantastic breakfast. Service was very friendly and efficient. Room clean and bed comfortable.

Reviewer:Joyce M | Sat 14th Feb 2015 | 3 years ago


Really Rather Good! - Rating 4/5

I booked in for 4 nights whilst house-hunting.Although the hotel was quiet, service from the owners and their staff was excellent. The hotel was well-appointed and nicely furnished. Breakfast and dinner were both good with plenty of choice and served efficiently.I plan to return!

Response

Thank you so much for your kind review and we are pleased you wish to return to our hotel.We look forward to seeing you in the future.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:David R | Sat 31st Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


Relaxed atmosphere in the centre of Ottery St Mary - Rating 4/5

Nice small hotel on the bank of the river Otter. Friendly staff and good food at a reasonable price.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments, especially regarding the staff.We hope to see you again in the future.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Martin H | Sun 18th Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


excellant - Rating 5/5

We were only at the Tumbling Weir Hotel for one night but this is quite long enough to find out what a wonderful place it is to stay, and the food was a great delight your chef is to be congratulated well done we will be back

Response

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.We will pass your comments to our chef.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Michael D | Sun 18th Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


Fabulous hotel - Rating 5/5

This is my second visit to Tumbling Weir and I would highly recommend a stay here.Well appointed rooms, comfortable bed and friendly and helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble.I am already looking forward to my next visit!

Reviewer:Malcolm H | Tue 9th Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


wedding night - Rating 5/5

Really lovely friendly hotel will recommend toour friends &family

Reviewer:Tracey A | Tue 9th Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for a short break and found the hotel pleasant and the food excellent. The Owners and staff were attentive and helpful. We plan to return as we enjoyed our stay.

Response

Thank you for your kind review.We look forward to seeing you again in the future.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Mr. V G P | Sun 30th Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


Hidden gem- Rating 5/5

Another quality stay here, nice hotel in a peaceful location, very clean and tidy rooms very comfortable beds, a very good breakfast choice and very tasty, my first choice to stay when working in the area

Response

Thank you so much for your comments.We look forward to seeing you again soon.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Ian F | Fri 3rd Oct 2014 | 3 years ago


Recommended - Rating 4/5

Stayed 1 night on business,All staff that I came into contact with we're very nice, plenty of parking and a nice clean hotel.Evening meal and breakfast were very good.I will use this Hotel again

Response

Thank you for your kind review.We look forward to seeing you in the future.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Stephen S | Thu 25th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


3 nights In August - Rating 5/5

A small hotel with very friendly staff, lovely gardens and a excellent cooked breakfast in the morning!

Response

So kind of you to write such a lovely review.We do hope to see you again in the future.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Mr. Richard S | Thu 21st Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Weenjoyed a pleasant one night stay with a meal in the restaurant which was excellent Our hosts and other staff were very friendly and helpful

Response

Thank you so much for your kind comments which I will pass on to our staff members.We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our hotel.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Sue S | Sat 16th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Tumbling Weir - Rating 5/5

A lovely hotel - although not easily found from the road.I am picky but couldn't fault the room - was a single but plenty of space, nicely presented and bed extremely comfortable.Food for dinner and breakfast was exceptional and staff couldn't be more helpful.Very impressed.

Response

Thank you for your kind review.We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Louise W | Fri 15th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Lovely hotel - Rating 4/5

We had a very pleasant stay in this lovely little hotel. The garden was beautiful, the rooms were clean and modern, the breakfast offered plenty of choice, and the staff were very accommodating events though we arrived late.

Response

Thank you for your review.We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Roger G | Sun 10th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


A Great Hotel - Rating 5/5

I would recommend this hotel. Rooms are simple but beds are comfortable with quality linen. The food is wonderful. Tasty, freshly cooked, always hot and fantastic flavour. I stay in many hotels. This is a great find.

Response

Thank you for your terrific review.We do hope to see you again at our hotel.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Roger B | Tue 5th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


26 July 14 - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable stay.Excellent dinner with good service. We had lovely weather and were able to take advantage of the beautiful garden. Comfy beds and nice pillows.

Reviewer:Kelly M | Mon 28th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


What a lovely place! - Rating 5/5

I chanced upon this place via Google and stayed one night. It was my first experience of a small privately run hotel for many years - and it was excellent. A well presented room and possibly the best dinner I've ever had in a hotel! What's not to like!

Reviewer:Mr. David J | Fri 25th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

This is a lovely hotel in a gorgeous setting. The food was excellent, the staff were very friendly, helpful and always available, and the location was ideal.An ideal hotel

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review.We will pass on your comments to our staff.We hope to see you again in the future.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:John R | Thu 24th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Weekend in Devon - Rating 4/5

Very peaceful stay. Pleasant room,great breakfast and helpful staff.

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments.We hope to see you again in the future.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Annabel M | Sat 12th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


A short stay - Rating 4/5

A comfortable, well presented hotel with welcoming and helpful staff. The restaurant provides good food with a varied and interesting menu.Overall, this hotel gives reasonable value for money.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write a review.We hope to see you again in the future.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Michael H | Thu 10th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Good Base for East Devon - Rating 4/5

Really enjoyed our stay. The garden was lovely. Owners and staff were friendly &helpful. Food good. Would recommend the Tumbling Weir Hotel.

Response

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind review.We do hope to see you again in the future.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Mr F | Wed 25th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


overnight stay - Rating 4/5

very pleasant room, comfortable and clean, disappointingly weak shower. Very good dinner and breakfast.used as overnight stop for Exeter airport, ideal as only 12 mins away.

Response

Thank you for your kind review.Typically we installed a new shower in that room last week after you stayed with us, as we were aware it needed changing.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Alan S | Thu 19th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Exceptional - Rating 5/5

Booked into hotel while visiting friends in Ottery.Arrived early to be greeted by friendiy reception staff and was able to check in early with no problems.Room very clean and comfortable with everything I needed.The bathroom very clean and plenty of hot water.Used the restaurant for evening meal and both the food and service were without fault.The quality of the food was of a very high standard and an excellent wine list.Slept very well, bed comfortable and surroundings very quiet.Breakfast also did not disappoint with everything you needed, the fresh fruit salad was fresh and not out of tin.I had poachedeggs on toast and cooked to perfection, again excellent service.Had no problems with internet the whole time I was there.I will be using this hotel on a regular basis when visiting friends.Thanks to all at the Tumbling Weir Hotel for a lovely mini break.

Response

Thank you so much for your kind comments.Our customers are very important to us and we pride ourselves on the quality of food and service within the hotel.We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Mrs. Aurora M | Wed 4th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Very Satisfied - Rating 4/5

Stayed here a couple of times now and would always look to stay here going forward if on a trip to Devon. Nice size rooms, nice powerful shower, lovely people and great food make for a very comfortable stay.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and taking the time to write our review.We look forward to seeing you in the future.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Phil H | Mon 2nd Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Good hotel! - Rating 4/5

Friendly staff, comfortable and well equipped room. Quiet location within easy walk of town centre.Excellent food.Well located for Exeter airport as well as for touring the countryside and coast of East Devon.Very reasonably priced.Given the amenities I am surprised that the hotel only carries a two star rating - it deserves more!

Response

Thank you for your fantastic review.Yes we also agree with you regarding 3 stars.We have been told that we qualify for 3 but because our rooms are not overly large we don't want to disappoint people!Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Sarah L | Tue 20th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Ideal for us - Rating 5/5

We found the hotel very welcoming and friendly the food was excellent and bedroom very comfortable

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments.We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again in the future.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Ian H | Thu 15th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Good Value Quality Hotel - Rating 4/5

Only stayed one night on our way further south but found the hotel very clean and comfortable.Breakfast and dinner were both excellent and staff were helpful and efficient.

Response

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the future.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Mr. Colin W | Tue 6th May 2014 | 4 years ago


One night stay re funeral nearby - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely short stay.Nice bright rooms. very welcoming and fab breakfast in the morning.

Response

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Mrs. Jeanette D | Sat 3rd May 2014 | 4 years ago


Great breakfast - Rating 4/5

And a fine supper too. My room was clean and comfortable, service was friendly and it was all good value for money. Satisfied customer.

Response

Thank you so much for your comments.We hope you will visit us again soon.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Anthony S | Wed 30th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Delightful small hotel - Rating 4/5

Set in a glorious mature garden, with a traditional English village close by, this hotel offers comfortable, though generally small, rooms furnished in typical small hotel style. Excellent food offered by restaurant. We stayed overnight, but would have liked to stay longer.

Response

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments.We hope to see you again in the future.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Dennis J | Wed 16th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Hotel by the weir - Rating 4/5

Stayed there with my sister for 2 nights. We were very pleased with this hotel. It was clean, comfortable and the food was very good. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. The garden was attractive too.

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments and taking the time to write your review.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Leila W | Tue 8th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


our stay in march - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable quiet hotel, tucked away by the river, but only 5 minutes walk across parkland to town centre.Good food, good service.

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments.We hope to see you again in the future.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Dorothy O | Sat 29th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Thank you - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a comfortable stay.

Response

Thank you for your lovely comment.We hope to see you again in the future.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Paul W | Sat 29th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Will Return! - Rating 5/5

Beautifully clean en-suite and large comfortably furnished double room. Friendly staff and owners. Superb food and a very tranquil location all at a very attractive price. We will be going back!

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments.We look forward to seeing you in the future.Kind regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Mr A | Mon 24th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Satisfied customer! - Rating 5/5

Charming hotel with attentive, helpful and friendly staff.Located close to the Mill stream and river Otter and overlooking an attractive garden and park.Service, evening meal and breakfast were all excellent and the room was immaculate with all accessories provided. Iwas able to keep the room a little longer than notified check out time which was very welcome.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely comments.We hope you will visit us again soon.

Reviewer:William A | Thu 20th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


March 2014 - Rating 4/5

Lovely setting, good hospitality;thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments.We hope to see you again in the future.Kind regards,Lynn

Reviewer:Mr. Paul D | Mon 10th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Family do - Rating 4/5

All went very wellRoom comfortable if a little warmFood extremely good both dinner and breakfastWill certainly visit again

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments.We look forward to seeing you in the future.Kind regards,Lynn

Reviewer:A B | Sun 9th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

Excellent service, great room and great breakfast. Owners and staff very friendly and helpful. Would definatley stay again

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments.We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the future.Regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Christine D | Sat 1st Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


A rare treat - Rating 5/5

This is a great little Hotel with very friendly and helpful staff, fabulous food and a great location - highly recommended..!

Response

Thank you very much for your lovely review-we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Mr R | Sat 22nd Feb 2014 | 4 years ago


Overnight Stay - Rating 5/5

Once again an excellent nights stay and fantastic food

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments.We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.Regards,Lynn Thurgate

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher B | Thu 20th Feb 2014 | 4 years ago


Satisfied guest - Rating 5/5

This hotel is off the main road and very quiet, with friendly staff and good food. My room had everything I could possibly need and was scrupulously clean and comfortable. Why only 2star?

Response

Thank you for your terrific comments and we have been offered 3 stars but feel that some of our rooms are on the compact side and some guests would not be satisfied. Regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Freda W | Sat 18th Jan 2014 | 4 years ago


Attending funeral - Rating 5/5

Nice cosy room. Very friendly staff and delicious Food. Well recommended.

Response

Thank you for your terrific review-we do appreciated your feedback. Regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Mr. Antony J | Fri 15th Nov 2013 | 4 years ago


Bed & Breakfast - Rating 5/5

Comfortable bed and first cladd breakfast!

Reviewer:Mr. Tony I | Mon 28th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


cpnsultant - Rating 4/5

Once I had found it, I was impressed by the welcome and the ambience.I was particularly impressed by the dinner and complement the chefThe room was small but adequate and comfortable.I shall definitely go again if in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. John D | Thu 10th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely room great food had evening meal which was excellent.

Reviewer:Elaine M | Thu 10th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


Hotel Review - Rating 4/5

A very pleasant stay in a quiet and comfortable hotel with friendly staff. The evening meal was superb as indeed were the breakfasts. I wanted to give it 4.5 out of 5 but the systwm would not accept it!

Reviewer:Christopher R | Thu 10th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


Tumbling Weir Hotel - Rating 4/5

Pros:Lovely location, very clean room, very warm, friendly staff and gorgeous breakfast.Simply the nicest poached eggs I've ever had.Such a simple dish, but very easy to get it wrong!Cons:The entrance is quite off-putting i.e. driving through a derelict industrial location to get to it.I found the bed too soft but know these things are a matter of taste.And my room (number 1) was the first door at the top of the stairs so suffered with lots of noise coming up from the bar.Perhaps think about putting a door on the bar area? - the noise travels straight up the stairs...I would still highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewer:Ms. Jeanette K | Sun 18th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Short break - Rating 5/5

A comfortable, welcoming place to stay with attentive, helpful hosts and staff and excellent food.We'll definitely be back!

Response

Thank you very much for your very complimentary review.We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you in the future.Regards,Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Mrs. Jennifer B | Fri 2nd Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Weekend B&B - Rating 5/5

Comfortable accomodation, excellent breakfasts and friendly staff;all in a beautiful setting.

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments. Lynn and Paul

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew W | Thu 20th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


We will use this again - Rating 5/5

Very clean and comfortable , excellent well cooked breakfast and the surroundings are quiet - strange entrance through an old mill- good value etc for a 2 star hotel

Reviewer:Mr. Michael T | Sun 24th Mar 2013 | 5 years ago


A little jewel - Rating 5/5

A friendly, cosy hotel with delightful gardens and excellent tastefully decorated bedrooms. Comfortable beds and the peaceful setting make for a very good night's sleep. The food is all freshly home cooked and delicious. What this hotel lacks in size it makes up for in ambience and good value for money.

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne-marie S | Sat 2nd Mar 2013 | 5 years ago


Tumbling Weir - Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing weekend.Excellent food an great service.

Reviewer:Mr. Graham H | Mon 25th Feb 2013 | 5 years ago


november11th- Rating 5/5

I was the only person staying at the hotel, but I couldn't have been better treated. When I said I needed an early start, they provided a tray for breakfast complete with my own toaster, at 6:30am!I would definitely saty here again if I was in the area.

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments.Hope we see you again.

Reviewer:Ms Mary P | Tue 13th Nov 2012 | 5 years ago


Book Online


Our Facilities

  • Conference
  • Credit card
  • Free parking
  • Parking facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Laundry
  • Family rooms
  • Internet services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic breaks
  • Walking holidays
  • Country retreat

Contact Details

Tumbling Weir Hotel and Restaurant
Canaan Way
Ottery St. Mary
Devon
EX11 1AQ
01404 812 752
reception@tumblingweirhotel.com